History of Maldives Civil Service Commission

The Maldives Civil Service Commission (CSC) was established by an Act of Parliament in 2007. The Act also established a Maldivian Civil Service as an
independent service whereby defining the legal status, objectives, responsibilities and powers of that service. The creation of an independent civil service and other reforms introduced by the Civil Service Act and the new Constitution of Maldives subscribed to the following major changes:

  • A distinction is made for the first time between Civil Service and Political service.
  • There will be no one service called the Public Service to be administered in one place.
  • The administration of employment service of the government institutions to be removed from the President’s Office.
  • Permanent Secretaries and all the other staff members to deliver government policies are to be appointed by the Civil Service Commission.
  • There will be no Minister or cabinet secretary responsible or to oversee the Maldives Civil Service.

The Civil Service Commission consists of five members appointed by the Parliament; including a President and a Vice President who are also appointed by the Parliament.

The Civil Service Commission with its inception on 23 October 2007, took over the challenging task of establishing a modern professional Civil Service in the Maldives. Today the Maldives Civil Service is firmly in place and is working as the most important driving force of the government policy and democratic governance in the Maldives.

Hotline / Sms




ސީއެސްސީ ބޮޓް